In order for it NOT to be a missed shot: A) a ball of the players group must be contacted with the white ball B) before the white ball touches a ball of the other playes group, or the 8-ball C) after making contact of A, at least one (non-white) ball has to touch a rail or drop into a pocket.
It seems that this question comes up all the time here? Player "A" must contact his ball first then any ball must touch a rail. If a rail is hit with the cue ball first, the cue ball must still contact one of player "A's" balls and ANY ball must then go to a rail in order for it to be a good hit. If this does not happen in that order, it is a foul. Player "B" would get ball in hand. If you hit a cushion then your ball, and something does not hit the rail after that happens, it is a foul. Opponent gets ball in hand.
Again I ask: Which of the six totally different sets of 8-ball rules - are you citing?
I can't think of any where this would not be the case. In fact I can't even think of any game, 14.1, 9 ball, 10 ball, 1 pocket, where a good hit is any different? The penalty might be different, but it is still a foul. Bar rules does not count! Can you name one where it is different?
Ball in hand means you can place it anywhere on the table.
The only restriction is that you may not commit a foul while placing the CB anywhere on the table. A fou would include moving another ball, touching another ball, or otherwise altering the table position.
This Billiards Forum page was generated in 0.328 seconds. The Billiards Forum page speedometer is brought to you by cuetable.com, an online visualization tool for billiard sports. Please be sure to stop by and support their site, and make use of their amazing visualization tools. You can also see the Billiards Forum Sitemap.
You can submit a billiards tutorial of your own for publishing. The work must be original and must be related in some way to cue sports. We are open to any billiards related articles, so don't be shy about submitting. You can also sign up for our billiards newsletter.