By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Best Billiard Books and Drills for New Pool Players

I just got introduced to billiards this last summer and fell in love with the game. I just got a new pool table for Christmas and have a few questions I need clarification on.

I need some basic drills to practice with. If possible I'd also like an explanation on how to execute the drill (like what type of English to use on the balls to get the cue ball in the correct position). I'm having some trouble with the drills I've found online because I'm not sure what English to use to get the cue ball in position for the next ball in the drill.

Replies & Comments

1. ksicardFenwick on 12/29/2013 9:50:58 AM

In the beginning it's best to learn natural angles. Top and bottom isn't english with a small e BTW. Not just my opinion. Just enter basic drills into a search and you'll find many. No one is the one and only.

I'm not a pro just a enthusiast of the game. I just happened to notice your post while browsing and others may have very different opinions.

2. ksicardksicard on 12/29/2013 10:25:24 AM

Thank you for the reply, I'm familiar with English not being top and bottom. I'll do a search as you recommended on basic drills, but if you have any videos or pictures of some quality drills that you thought improved your game a large amount please send them my way.

3. ksicardFenwick on 12/29/2013 10:45:41 AM

In terms of learning, I would suggest that anything written by CJ Wiley is a good start.

FYI - Top and bottom English can change the tangent line.

You did say, "New player in need of advice." So I thought you were just starting. No offense intended.

Here is the C.J. Wiley DVD cover:

Going to practice and play for a hour or four now.

4. ksicardksicard on 12/29/2013 2:37:58 PM